Test Preparation


International English Language Testing System

IELTS is an international test of English for higher education, Immigration and Employment. Over 1.5 million people take this test every year. This is the World’s proven test of English. Due to its high quality control, IELTS is accepted by thousands of organizations in over 135 countries.

  • Universities, Schools, Training colleges, Tertiary Institutes
  • Government Departments and Agencies
  • Professional and Industry Bodies
  • Multinational Companies and Employers


The IELTS test has four parts - Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. Candidates must do all four parts to receive an IELTS result. The total test time is 2 hours and 45 minutes.

IELTS is available in two test formats: Academic or General Training. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking modules but different Reading and Writing modules. Listening, Reading and Writing must be completed in one day. The Speaking test may be offered on the same day or up to a week before or after the other parts. See below for a diagram of the test format.

Choice of Formats

IELTS is available in two formats - Academic and General Training. It means that you can recruit applicants who have taken a test that is directly relevant to your English-language purposes.

Academic-Institutions of Higher and Further Education

The Academic format is, broadly speaking, for those who want to study or train in an English-speaking University or Institutions of Higher and Further Education. Admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses is based on the results of the Academic Test.

General Training-for school, work or migration

The General Training format focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts. It is typically for those who are going to English-speaking countries to do secondary education, work experience or training programs. People migrating to Australia, Canada and New Zealand must sit in the General Training test.